Does autism qualify for NDIS?

Absolutely! As a permanent disability, the NDIS provides funding for persons with ASD. In fact, autism spectrum disorder is the largest primary disability category for the NDIS.

However, there are some conditions and not all individuals with autism spectrum disorder will be approved for NDIS funding.

If the individual is assessed as having ASD with level 2 severity (requiring substantial support) or level 3 severity (requiring very substantial support), they are very likely to qualify for NDIS funding.

For further detail, see NDIS List A.

If the individual is assessed as having ASD with level 1 severity (requiring some support), Asperger syndrome, atypical autism, childhood autism, or pervasive developmental disorders not meeting certain severity criteria, further assessment of functional capacity is required to determine eligibility for NDIS funding.

For further detail, see NDIS List B.

NDIS funding and support for autism

The type of support services available to those with autism are

  • Speech therapy
  • Occupational therapy to increase fine motor skills and ability to concentrate
  • Personal care support (help showering, toileting, dressing, eating)
  • Behavioural support (relationship building, behavioural management techniques)
  • Nutrition (diversifying eating habits)

The amount of funding and support for ASD depends on the severity of the condition.

NDIS pathways for autism

Those over 7 years of age will access NDIS funding via the regular NDIS Pathway.

However, if your child is 0-6 years of age, they will access NDIS funding through the Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI) pathway. The ECEI:

  • Provides early intervention for a child with developmental delay or disability
  • Acknowledges that early intervention leads to better long-term outcomes
  • Uses a family-centred approach that supports greater inclusion in mainstream settings and builds child and family capacity
  • Connects families to services via access partners

NDIS plan goals for autism

Aligning your goals with the objectives of the NDIS is often a great place to start. The NDIS aims to support people with a disability to improve their independence, increase their participation in social and economic activities and to develop their capacity to engage with their community.

When you are developing you or your child’s personal goals, reflect on each of these NDIS objectives and consider how your goals fit within these objectives.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is autism?

  • Is autism a permanent disability?

  • Sign, behaviours and symptoms of autism

  • Severity of autism